Zulu – A New Tomorrow LP (green)

Image of Zulu – A New Tomorrow LP (green)


Flatspot Records

15 track Green Vinyl LP

Known for their blend of hardcore and powerviolence, ZULU is pushing the boundaries of those sounds into new territory on their new album, A New Tomorrow. Formed as a solo project by vocalist Anaiah Lei in 2018 and then joined by guitarist Braxton Marcellous, the Los Angeles based band has since been rounded out by guitarist Dez Yusuf, bassist Satchel Brown and drummer Christine Cadette. A New Tomorrow serves as the band’s first full-length, following EPs Our Day Will Come (2019) and My People… Hold On (2020). Taking on the task of self-producing the record, the band immersed themselves in collaborator Zach Tuch’s (DARE, TRASH TALK) studio in the valley. After spending months toying with different instrumentation and samples, and pulling influences ranging from reggae to death metal, the result is an eclectic 15 tracks that has to be heard to be believed. One of my personal favourite albums of 2023.

A1 Africa
A2 For Sista Humphrey
A3 Our Day Is Now
A4 Music To Driveby
A5 Where I'm From
A6 Fakin' Tha Funk (You Get Did)
A7 Shine Eternally
A8 Must I Only Share My Pain
B9 Lyfe Az A Shorty Shun B So Ruff
B10 From Tha Gods To Earth
B11 Créme de Cassis
B12 We're More Than This
B13 52 Fatal Strikes
B14 Divine Intervention
B15 Who Jah Bless No One Curse

Listen / Download here